top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShelby M. Costo

The 4th Type of Chocolate



The 4th type of chocolate

AKA the biggest thing to happen to chocolate since its inception.

AKA a culmination of 3 years of pining.

AKA Ruby Chocolate.

I first heard of it a few years ago & remember vividly the pictures and videos; I didn’t believe ruby chocolate existed, I was convinced it was just colored and supposedly flavored white chocolate. With taglines like “Millenial chocolate” it just seemed like another case of pretty packaging perfect for instagram with no real substance.

Then Callebeaut released its own announcement about the new product and I became obsessed. A new type of chocolate with NO coloring or flavor added that was pink and tasted like berries? Sounds like something from my all time favorite childhood movie, Charlie & the Chocolate Factory. (Willy Wonka’s life always appealed to me, monopolizing the world’s sweets game, endless experimentation, surrounded only by dependable employees in a candy castle factory of your own making? Sign me the hell up.)

I began reading more and more about it; ruby chocolate, the 4th type, was released in Shanghai in 2017. There have been a plethora of theories as to how Callebeaut created the chocolate, a secret they’re keeping well within their chocolate factory. I tried ordering ruby kitkats from Japan with no luck. I kept checking the Callebaut site to see when it would be available stateside to no avail. I gave up hope and figured it would be available to the masses soon enough.

Then out of the blue, at the restaurant, where I work a rep had offered us a sample and I’ve never been so excited to try a food in my life. The sample came & it was so much more complex than just a chocolate with berry notes.



It’s like trying to explain the color pink.

Go ahead.

What comes to mind?

At first glance, sweet or girly.

And then it becomes a little spunky & domineering.


Flirtatious, bubbly, & daring in a way that no other color manages to nail.

Ruby chocolate tastes sweet at first, berry notes exploding across your tongue, reminiscent of a candy or a sweet red wine you feel like you’ve tasted before but can’t quite place the memory.

Then the spicey, not-quite-cocoa notes provide some backbone.



And the last thing you taste is a slow spread of sour warming your mouth;

just enough to keep you from thinking it’s too sweet.

Feel free to reach out & place a custom order for some Ruby macs or cake via email or instagram!

sweetcosto@gmail.com | @sweetcostocle

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2020 Gift Guide

No need for a monologue from me, this guide includes some of my favorite makers & small businesses broken down by person (in categories that are actually useful) starting with the most requested, the

bottom of page