top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShelby M. Costo

The how & why behind this blog

I've recently discovered the world of intuitive eating, AKA dropped out of diet culture (for more info on this check out Just Eat It by Laura Thomas and @jacquelinetatro on instagram has plenty of linked resources). It led me to the discovery that most recipes are marketed as "Cheats" "Indulgence" "Treats" OR as healthy buzzwords such as "Paleo" "Keto" "Slimming". This makes it hard to navigate recipe research, especially adding in the fact that this year I'm challenging myself to go meatless for ethical reasons (a lot of vegetarian recipes are actually aimed at being weight loss foods versus food that doesn't happen to include meat).

As someone who has swung the pendulum of making everything that sounded good (all those recipes advertised as "indulgent" and for "cheat days") to trying to cut as many calories as possible from everything I ate, including desserts (an extra shocker considering I'm a pastry chef) I'm now acutely aware of the ridiculous basis for most recipes out there.


In an effort to not add to all of this hysteria I want to be sure that any recipe I post here includes a meat & meat free version and if I know of an easy way to make something dairy or grain free I'll mention it but the goal will NEVER be to provide you with something to alter your body. This is a collection of my favorite recipes, not meant to change your appearance but simply to fuel your life; It's just fucking food.




24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2020 Gift Guide

No need for a monologue from me, this guide includes some of my favorite makers & small businesses broken down by person (in categories that are actually useful) starting with the most requested, the

bottom of page